Dry Run Of Cashless Tolls In PH Expressways To Begin September 1

Dry Run Of Cashless Tolls In PH Expressways To Begin September 1

MPTCS and SMC will participate in a dry run of cashless tolls beginning in September 1 for the next two months.

At the height of the pandemic, there was a strong movement to remove cash lanes and implement cashless tolls across expressways in the Philippines. At the time, it was a way to reduce the spread of COVID-19, but its long-term goal was to speed up or even eliminate queuing at toll booths. Now in 2023, the Toll Regulatory Board (TRB) has directed the Tollway Concessionaires and Operators of expressways under its jurisdiction to conduct a dry-run of the Contactless Program on selected qualified toll plazas for two months starting September 1, 2023.
This is in line with TRB’s support and compliance with the Resolution passed by the Committee on Transportation of the House of Representatives calling for the re-implementation of the Contactless Program. This was issued under Department Order No. 2020-12 dated August 13, 2020, requiring cashless or contactless transactions for all vehicles traveling on toll expressways.
Metro Pacific Tollways Corporation (MPTC), the concessionaire of NLEX, SCTEX, NLEX Connector Road, CAVITEX, CALAX, and CCLEX, is also planning to implement “barrier-less” toll booths, similar to its implementation during peak hours in the city of Valenzuela. The contactless toll dry run will happen in most toll booths of MPTC, and here is a list of toll booths that will participate in the two-month dry run beginning September 1.
  • All Toll Plazas
  • All Toll Plazas
  • All Toll Plazas
  • C5 Southlink
  • Taguig Toll Plaza
  • Merville Toll Plaza
On the other hand, San Miguel Corporation (SMC), the concessionaire of SLEX, NAIAX, Skyway, MCX, TPLEX, and STAR Tollway, will implement the contactless toll booths in the following areas.
A. NAIA Expressway
  • All Toll Plazas
B. Skyway South (Stages 1 and 2)
  • Skyway Elevated Alpha and Bravo
  • C5 Exit and Entry
  • Nichols Entry
  • Nichols Exit
  • Merville Exit
  • Bicutan Entry SB and NB
  • Sucat Exit SB and NB
  • Alabang SB Exit
C. South Luzon Expressway
  • Filinvest Exit and Entry
  • Alabang NB and SB
  • Mamplasan NB
  • Sta. Rosa NB
  • ABI SB and NB
  • Cabuyao SB
  • Silangan SB
  • Batino SB Exit
  • Calamba-Turbina SB Exit
  • Calamba NB Exit
  • Canlubang SB Entry
  • Calamba SB Entry
  • Calamba-Real NB Entry
  • Calamba-Turbina A NB Entry
D. Muntinlupa-Cavite Expressway
  • All Toll Plazas
E. Metro Manila Skyway Stage 3
  • Buendia NB Entry
  • Buendia SB Exit
  • Plaza Dilao SB Entry
  • G. Araneta NB Entry
  • Quezon Ave. NB Entry
  • Quezon Ave. NB Exit
  • Quezon Ave. SB Entry
  • Del Monte NB Alpha
  • Victoria Toll Plaza
  • Pura Toll Plaza
  • Anao Toll Plaza
  • Pozzorubio Toll Plaza
  • Rosario Toll Plaza
G. STAR Tollway
  • Sto. Tomas SB Entry
  • Sto. Tomas NB Entry
  • Tanauan NB Entry
More expressways and cashless tolls will be added to this list as the dry run progresses and more system upgrades have been implemented by both MPTC and SMC.

0 comments on “Dry Run Of Cashless Tolls In PH Expressways To Begin September 1

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: